27
Oct
08

iClone Innovators, focusing on users who blaze new trails in Machinima

Animals in iClone, sound to good to be true? Not to Duchess, a true iClone PowerUser

Animals in iClone, sound to good to be true? Not to Duchess110, a true iClone PowerUser

Hello iCloners, this post is something new that I am going to do from time to time, which is showcase an iClone or CrazyTalk PowerUser out there who’s work and innovative techniques have caught my eye. This is something that I think will help to educate other users on some of the often to many times awesome methods that get lost in the shuffle. The first iClone Innovator I would like to tune you guys into is a user who emerged from CoolClones.com who produces under the handle Duchess110. Recently I found myself in a bind for a high-end production that called for a couple of animals other than horses. After reading some stuff on the Reallusion forum I was turned on to Linda (Duchess110) and some new character rigging methods she had been testing and developing. She had been deep in the throws of solving the “animal in iClone” issue already and was happy to help provide me with a working 3D Camel avatar created using here new recipe. Yes, I said Avatar, complete with bones and IK abilities. I was floored by her results, to the point I felt it time to start sharing some of the truly exciting creation techniques and the artist who dream them up.

Elephant Avatar complete with IK bone structure ready for animation on the real-time stage by Duchess

Elephant Avatar complete with IK bone structure ready for animation on the real-time stage by Duchess

As a child I was fascinated by cartoons and the Walt Disney Films and never in my wildest dreams did I ever think that there was a possibility of me being able to do that!“…Linda

Duchess110 is a perfect example of someone who threw off the weight of working day to day on a computer and embraced the love of producing artwork on one on a regular basis. She tinkered around with other programs such as Daz and Poser, but it was iClone she fell in love with like so many other of us out there. The user-friendliness and overall deep understand shared openly by the user-base was enough to get Linda to enter iClone and never leave. She has been involved with the CoolCreators and notes Rainman, Wolfzone, Warlord and a few other artist there as being inspirational artist that have helped her in her pursuit of real-time enlightenment. Linda is sure to continue to produce awesome content and walk to the beat of a different drummer where experimental development techniques are concerned. Below is a collection of links to some of her movies and then of course, screen shots here showcasing the Elephant and Rhino characters she has already unleased. Keep an eye on this user because she defines what is possible when you push iClone to the virtual limits and then see what happens when you go over the edge with your artwork. Keep it up Duchess and I will be sure to keep watch of your progress, I’m sure it will be stunning. If you know an iClone or CrazyTalk Artist out there that needs a little spotlight, contact me here at the blog and supply some links, shots, vids or VNS files of some work and I will do the rest. Thanks again everyone and keep the clone’n alive.

http://www.coolclones.net/duchess/cc4u/Turkish-Delight.wmv
(made all scene props clothes etc for this)

http://www.coolclones.net/duchess/projects/CloneBones.wmv
(made the clone bones characters)

http://www.coolclones.net/duchess/projects/Elephants.wmv
(showing how Elephants could work within iClone)

http://www.coolclones.net/duchess/projects/Halloween-Party.wmv
(Frank was made by another Cool Creator but I did all others.
The Gremlin was a Daz Character I got in and he can wiggle his toes I did show some movement but not much)

These video are videos Duchess created during beta testing and have never been viewed before now

http://www.coolclones.net/duchess/projects/War-Of-The-Worlds-Intro.wmv
(Where I was testing out look at)
http://www.coolclones.net/duchess/projects/YOU-ARE-MY-WORLD.wmv
(Just seeing what I could do and using the flex cloth as a skirt)

http://www.coolclones.net/duchess/projects/heartache-avenue.wmv
(Just trying out animation)

7 Responses to “iClone Innovators, focusing on users who blaze new trails in Machinima”


  1. October 28, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    James,
    This is a great idea featuring iClone Innovators. This current focus on Duchess 110 only pushes me further to undedrstand how multi legged creature can be made. These features and tutorials are very valuable to us that are working on our films.
    Congrats again!!

  2. October 29, 2008 at 4:55 am

    Thanks Mike,

    I plan to do this from time to time like I said, and thanks for pointing out one of my true intentions with this post, which is to help push us all to new heights by exposing awesome innovations such as these techniques by Duchess110. It’s cool to hear it helped you out in your film endeavors and once again thanks for the shout out. I’ll keep my ear to the ground for more, you can bet on it.

  3. October 29, 2008 at 5:32 am

    Great post, James. I love this idea. and thanks for introducing me to a filmmaker I was previously unaware of. Nice work.

  4. October 29, 2008 at 6:26 am

    Hey Hey man,

    I have been traveling for 6 days and would’ve got this up earlier but there was business in the hills of Kentucky that couldn’t wait. I will try to keep this a regular thing and rock the DIY movement in this direction as well, because hey…aren’t we all headed to the same place with our art? I think so my friend, I think so. See ya in 86 hours!

  5. October 30, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Excellent idea James to showcase the iClone talent of powerusers. I for one can also say that Duchess has rescued me a few times in the past during a personal project in which her assistance was most valuable in completing the task. Duchess recently also aided fellow CoolCreator and iClone guru Wolfzone with a tip that has paved the way enormously in his iClone Creations. She is without a doubt one of the most gifted iCloners I’ve come to know. Her animation skills in the earlier versions of iClone were jaw dropping, and now with 3.0 she is destined to raise a many of eyebrow with her talents. Her versatility in iClone film making, and content production as well as mastering other applications places her high on the totem pole of iClone achievers. Although her work has seemingly been overshadowed, I am certain that her upcoming efforts in 3.0 will reveal even moreso that she is one of the true pioneers in the craft of iClone. I praise and applaud her efforts and the pleasantly humble personality behind the talent.

  6. 6 sat
    July 2, 2009 at 5:26 am

    It is good idea. can i one provide the link for downloading the iclone horse .iprop file. for iclone that i have, horse has no “operate” or “perform” option. even when i try to link it with other characters(like human). it is not connected. In the timeline option of horse also there are no tracklist. every option is empty. My request if any one have the iclone animal .prop files (specially horse) with tracklist. Please provide the link here. or send it to my email:

    sathish.kotha786@gmail.com

    • August 27, 2009 at 6:59 pm

      Hello Sathish,

      Thanks for taking an interest in iClone Certified Training, and I do apologize for the late reply. That is something that you should contact Reallusion costumer support and the Certified Content Developer department for. I think there may be a technical issue with your version of iClone and you may need to update or reinstall to solve your tracklist issues, but again, I would suggest contacting official Reallusion tech support on this one. Thanks again.


Leave a Reply

