06
Nov
08

the Martin Bros. Trip to the 5 boroughs, represent’n iClone3 at the Machinima FilmFest 2008

Machinima FilmFest 2008 in Chelsea, NYCMachinima FilmFest 2008 in Chelsea, NYC

A couple of iCloners were livin’ nitty-and-gritty cause in the city we trusted over the weekend. That’s New York city of course, with John C. Martin II and yours truly attending the Machinima FilmFest 2008 in Chelsea. Which went down at Eyebeam Art + Technology Center, a dark space where the who’s – who of the community came together for a 1 night only event.

the Martin Bros. arrive at Eyebeam for a day with masters of Machinima

the Martin Bros. arrive at Eyebeam for a day with masters of Machinima

I’d like to thank the Festival Producer Friedrich Kirschner and the Executive Director of the Academy of Machinima Arts and Sciences, Paul Marino for putting together a great show if I may. Other industry filmmakers and pioneers were in attendence the likes of Ricky Grove and Phil Rice of the Overcast, Paul Jannicola, Kerria Seabrooke , Frank Dellario of the ill Clan, a few of the guys from Lit Fuse, Douglas Gayeton, Chris Burke and producers from “This Spartan Life” to name a few. Company reps like Matt and John from MovieStorm and Armando Troisi from Mass Effect talked about new developments along with John C. Martin II on a pro-panel discussing new tools and innovations on the creation side of Machinima. I know I’m missing tons of other people of honorable mention that I may have had a free beer or three with but you people know who you are so no worries.

Douglas Gayeton, Paul Marino, Chris Burke and Frank Dellario (left to right in order)

Douglas Gayeton, Paul Marino, Chris Burke and Frank Dellario (left to right in order)

Armando Troisi of BioWare's Mass Effect

Armando Troisi of BioWare

Ricky Grove capturing us all in a tiny little alien box-type contraption

Ricky Grove capturing us all in a tiny little alien box-type contraption

The show was a bit more low key this year then the 2006 version of the Mackies but never-the-less was still a meeting of the Machinima minds which in my opinion, awards or no, should continue to happen on a regular. But, that’s just me. There were some really interesting tools that are still in the development phase that NYU chose to share with us and the features to be included in the next edition of Mass Effect are nothing short of stunning. It’s safe to say that with the large collective of creative minds driving the industry into uncharted territory, Machinima a has an unsure yet bright future ahead for us all to witness.

2008 Mackie Award...I want one!

2008 Mackie Award...I want one!

JimmyJaymz at Brother Jimmys

JimmyJaymz at Brother Jimmy's

5 Responses to “the Martin Bros. Trip to the 5 boroughs, represent’n iClone3 at the Machinima FilmFest 2008”


  1. November 7, 2008 at 12:55 am

    Man, I’m so glad someone there knew how to take a good photograph! All mine turned out so terrible.

    Was really great seeing you guys. I find I’m saying this a lot, but I sure wish there had been more time.

  2. November 7, 2008 at 1:42 am

    Hey Phil,

    I wouldn’t go as far as to say that I got good photos on this voyage, it was way more a Point-Click and Pray type of shoot. But yes there are some good ones that came out in the wash. If I was willing to do some red-eye reduction or buy a new camera I would have more than this up but, whatever will be…will be. It was great to see you too Overman and look forward to next time as always.

  3. November 8, 2008 at 12:53 am

    Nice post, dude! I agree with Phil: you have a nice touch with photography. You did miss Phil and my demo of kung fu and machinima though. He he. Loved seeing you both. Thanks for taking the time to be there. We enjoyed seeing you again and just having a good time together.

    Remember, James, who it is we both “hail”, right?

  4. November 9, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Hey Ricky,

    I did guess his name and yes…it was a blast catching up in NYC with youse guys. We missed most of the Kung-Fu Panel, this is true, but I had still not even checked into the hotel when I saw you that morning. I eventually had to give in and let John go to Starbucks and clean my shorts like a big boy. These are not all of the pics, I do have a few more but these were just a few of my fav’s. I’m glad to be able to share the small bit of coverage I did grab and thanks again for commenting on them. I hope things are going well in Second Life today, sorry I couldn’t attend, got some major catching up to do. But I’m sure John will share all the Machinima details with me later over a Rumble Pit round or 3. Kiss the goat Ricky, and I’ll see ya on the flipside!

    James

  5. November 15, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Great pictures, liked the flickr album of the expo too!


Leave a Reply

